≡ Menu

New Jersey: Laws and Regulations Summary

New Jersey StateJump to a section using the links below:

Past LawsPending LawsCurrent LawsOur view

Past laws

AB 1080

  • Would have fined vapers $250 to $1000 for using their e-cigarette anywhere on a beach or public park

S 602

  • Raises minimum age for purchase and sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 19 to 21

A 3254

  • Raises minimum age for purchase and sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 19 to 21

Pending laws

S 298

  • Bans characterizing flavor aside from tobacco, clove, or menthol

HB 2320

  • Raises minimum age for purchase and sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices

Current laws

Statewide Smoking Ban

  • Vaping is prohibited everywhere smoking is prohibited under the state’s clean indoor air act

Our view

New Jersey is very dedicated to limiting consumer access for electronic cigarettes and the legislature has already ostracized vapers by including them in the state smoking ban. A proposed ban on characterizing flavors further limits this choice, and the exception for a clove flavor seems almost out of place since clove was banned as a characterizing flavor in traditional cigarettes. It also appears that New Jersey legislature will continue to try and raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco and electronic cigarettes, despite such proposals being vetoed earlier this year.